🗳️ Tribunal time

Sask. refers federal oil & gas cap to economic tribunal, Alberta to intervene in pronoun policy case, NDP candidate nominated in Wood River

April 9, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning. Did you see the eclipse yesterday? There was one eclipse-related comment in QP. See the “More news & info” section to see what happened.

Here’s The SKoop for Tuesday, April 9:

  • Saskatchewan government refers federal emissions cap to economic impact assessment tribunal,

  • Alberta intends to intervene in Sask. pronoun policy appeal, and

  • The NDP nominate a candidate in Wood River.

Today’s Top Stories

Province refers federal Oil & Gas Cap, ‘Methane 75’ Regulations to Saskatchewan Economic Impact Assessment Tribunal

Saskatchewan Energy Minister Jim Reiter, Attorney General and Justice Minister Bronwyn Eyre speak at a press conference on April 8. (Photo by Saskatoon StarPhoenix)

The Saskatchewan government is taking steps to position itself against an incoming federal emissions cap.

At COP28 in Dubai last year, federal Environment Minister Steven Guilbeaut announced a national cap-and-trade system for the upstream oil and gas sector as well as 'Methane 75,' which mandates the reduction of methane emissions by 75% by 2030, along with fines and penalties.

Saskatchewan Justice Minister and Attorney General Bronwyn Eyre and Energy & Resources Minister Jim Reiter announced Monday they will be using the province’s “economic impact assessment tribunal”, created as part of the Saskatchewan First Act, to defend Saskatchewan against the federal program. Under the Act, findings from the independent tribunal can be used as evidence in court.

Eyre said, "These measures, which constitute a production cap by default, are duplicative and inefficient. They ignore local realities and the diversity of production methods across the country. Their imposition, with no consultation, is another example of gross federal overreach into provincial jurisdiction and flies in the face of growing momentum against federal regulation of specific provincial industries by the courts.”

Preliminary estimates from the Ministry of Energy and Resources suggest that compliance for the oil and gas cap and 'Methane 75' will cost Saskatchewan’s energy sector between $7-9 billion dollars by 2030, which does not take into account the broader economic impact on jobs, investment and GDP.

Alberta teams up with Saskatchewan in pronoun policy challenge

People protesting in support of the LGBTQ+ and gender-diverse youth at the Saskatchewan Legislature. (Regina Leader-Post, September 22)

In February, a Saskatchewan Court ruled that a lawsuit by UR Pride against the Government of Saskatchewan can proceed. The group is taking the government to court over pronoun policy, now law, Bill 137, and originally launched the lawsuit last June.

In February, the Saskatchewan Government filed for an appeal and stay of proceedings after the Court of Kings Bench ruled the case may continue.

A new filing announced on Monday showed the Government of Alberta, which introduced its own version of this legislation recently, intends to join Saskatchewan in its appeal. When Alberta joins, they would be among five groups holding intervener status in this case.

NDP Nominate Candidate in Wood River

Mike Topola (right) nominated in Assinaboia

Mike Topola was acclaimed by NDP members in Assinaboia Sunday night as the candidate for the Wood River constituency.

Topola is an Advanced Care Paramedic and currently works at the Assinaboia Union Hospital. He grew up on a farm and has coached high school football and basketball for the past nine years.

Topola is the 36th candidate nominated by the NDP ahead of the 2024 election. The next scheduled nomination for the NDP is Saskatoon Westview on May 8.

The Saskatchewan Party has four upcoming scheduled nominations.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Riaz Ahmad - Regina Coronation Park

  • Ghislaine McLeod - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Jamie Martens - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche

  • Sally Housser - Regina University

  • Wynn Fedorchuk - Canora-Pelly

  • Mike Tapola - Wood River