🗳️ A slew of strongholds

Nominations in strongholds, a cash-for-memberships video, and nomination in Meewasin

April 11, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning. Thanks to everyone that emailed us yesterday to tell us that the NDP mail card we covered in yesterday’s newsletter was delivered to households in many parts of Saskatchewan, not just Regina and Saskatoon. If you have any news tips for us, just respond to this email!

Here’s The SKoop for Thursday, April 11:

  • Slew of Saskatchewan Party nominations ahead this month,

  • Former Martensville nomination candidate facing scrutiny over cash-for-memberships, and

  • The Saskatchewan Party nominates a candidate in Meewasin.

Today’s Top Stories

Candidates to be nominated in slew of Sask. Party strongholds this month

The Saskatchewan Party has scheduled four upcoming nomination races that will see new candidates in seats long held by Saskatchewan Party MLAs.

Dakota-Arm River will hold a contested nomination today, April 11, to replace outgoing MLA Dana Skoropad. Skoropad was first elected in 2020. Jimmy Smith, Barret Kropf, and Trevor Reid are said to be seeking the nomination.

Saskatoon Southeast will hold a contested nomination meeting on Monday, April 15, to replace Sask Party stalwart Don Morgan. Morgan was first elected in 2003. Mubarik Syed, John Owojori, and Henry Chan are seeking the nomination.

Weyburn-Bengough will hold a nomination meeting on Tuesday, April 23 to replace longtime MLA Dustin Duncan. Duncan was first elected in a 2006 by-election. A this time, Mike Weger appears to be the only candidate seeking the nomination.

White City - Qu’Appelle members will vote in a contested nomination race on Wednesday, May 1, to replace Don McMorris. McMorris was first elected in 1999. Brad Crassweller and Brady Peter are seeking the nomination.

Sask. Party members will also soon hold a nomination meeting in Humboldt-Watrous to replace outgoing Finance Minister Donna Harpauer. A date has not yet been scheduled. Raquel Hilbert has announced she is seeking the nomination.

The Saskatchewan Party has held these five ridings for at least two decades and the seats remain safe for the party. We will cover the outcomes of all these races in the weeks to come.

Former nomination candidate faces questions after video surfaces

Maninder Singh Gill is seen apparently giving cash to a supporter buying a party membership. (CTV News)

A former Saskatchewan Party nomination candidate is in hot water over a recently posted YouTube video.

In a video originally shared on social media, Maninder Singh (MS) Gill is seen apparently giving money from his own wallet to a potential supporter and asking him to buy a party membership, a violation of campaign finance legislation and against Saskatchewan Party nomination and membership rules.

Gill recently contested the Saskatchewan Party nomination in Martensville-Blairmore before dropping out days ahead of the vote.

The video translates Gill saying “I’ll give you cash, just pay with your card.” Gill did drop out ahead of the nomination vote, but publicly endorsed Jamie Martens.

Premier Scott Moe responded to questions on Tuesday, saying “This individual did remove himself (from the nomination). He was not a candidate.”

In an emailed response to CTV News, Gill said the video was “mistranslated” and that he would be seeking legal help on this matter.

Jamie Martens won the nomination on March 27.

Sask. Party nominates candidate in Meewasin

Maureen Alice Torr (Facebook)

Maureen Alice Torr has been acclaimed as the Saskatchewan Party candidate in Saskatoon Meewasin. After moving to Canada in 2004, Torr is the founder of Joy’s Centre which empowers and supports vulnerable women and children.

NDP MLA Nathaniel Teed currently holds Meewasin and is the former seat of former NDP leader Ryan Meili.

Torr is the 45th candidate nominated by the Saskatchewan Party ahead of the next provincial election scheduled for October 28.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Riaz Ahmad - Regina Coronation Park

  • Ghislaine McLeod - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Jamie Martens - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Maureen Alice Torr - Saskatoon Meewasin

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche

  • Sally Housser - Regina University

  • Wynn Fedorchuk - Canora-Pelly

  • Mike Tapola - Wood River