🗳️ The Real Carla Beck

NDP launch new ads, new candidate in Saskatoon Southeast, SUMA in Regina

April 16, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning. Today federal Finance Minister Chrystia Freeland will deliver her much-awaited budget. Pre-budget leaks from the government say the budget will include a tax hike on wealthy Canadians - one measure that will help pay for the $38 billion in new spending that has recently been announced. We will include the big news in the budget in tomorrow’s newsletter.

Here’s The SKoop for Tuesday, April 16:

  • ‘Who’s the real Carla Beck?’: NDP launch new ads,

  • The Saskatchewan Party nominated a candidate in Saskatoon Southeast, and

  • SUMA Convention hears from Premier Moe.

Today’s Top Stories

‘Who’s the REAL Carla Beck?’ New NDP Ads about the Opposition Leader

The Saskatchewan NDP have launched a series of new digital ads with a clear aim of introducing their leader Carla Beck to Saskatchewan voters.

The 30-second video clips feature individuals speaking about the NDP leader. There are currently three versions of the ad. One features MLA Aleana Young holding her baby, saying “Carla Beck is comfortable in boardrooms and classrooms.” In another video, a woman says “Carla Beck really cares,” and in a third video, MLA Trent Wotherspoon says “Carla Beck is what this province needs.”

The NDP and Beck are working to introduce the leader to the general public ahead of the fall election. In a recent poll conducted by Angus Reid, 25% of Saskatchewan residents ‘strongly approved’ of Moe, while Beck’s number for the same question was at 11%. 18% of respondents in that poll also had no opinion of Ms. Beck at all - perhaps the most important question in that polling.

The digital ads appear to be paid out of the NDP’s caucus budget, and almost $1,400 has been spent in the past week on the ads, according to Facebook’s Ads Library.

Learn more about the great work the Saskatchewan Heavy Construction Association and its members are doing at saskheavy.ca.

Sask. Party nominates candidate in Saskatoon Southeast

Dr. John Owojori won a contested nomination last night and will become the next Saskatchewan Party candidate for Saskatoon Southeast.

Saskatoon Southeast has been held by Sask. Party stalwart and longtime MLA Don Morgan since 2003. Morgan was one of the first incumbents to announce that he would not be seeking re-election. Saskatoon Southeast has traditionally been a safe Sask. Party seat, as it was one of the first three urban seats in Saskatoon won by the Saskatchewan Party.

Dr. Owojori is is a soil ecotoxicologist with a Ph.D. from Stellenbosch University, South Africa and postdoctoral fellowships in Canada and Germany. He decided to make Saskatoon his new home in 2009.

Owojori is the 47th candidate nominated by the Saskatchewan Party ahead of the 2024 election scheduled for October 28, and the winner of the party’s 10th contested nomination. The next Saskatchewan Party nomination will be in Weyburn-Bengough on April 23.

The next nomination meeting for the Saskatchewan NDP is Saskatoon Westview on May 8th.

SUMA Convention kicks off in Regina

The Saskatchewan Urban Municipalities Association (SUMA) is hosting its annual convention in Regina this week. Muncipal leaders from across the province will meet and hear from both the Premier and leader of the Opposition.

There’s a lot happening this week at the annual event, with Premier Scott Moe addressing delegates in a keynote yesterday, Carla Beck will give her pitch to attendees today, and the cabinet bear pit session closes out the conference tomorrow. Today the CEO of Abucus Research, David Colletto will address the crowd, presumably with some fresh data related to polling on municipal issues.

In his keynote address yesterday, Premier Moe touted the recent provincial budget and the record increase to municipal revenue sharing. After the address, Moe was asked if he would commit to meeting with the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, or FCM, to discuss a new fiscal framework for municipalities, Moe said “Certainly more discussion is always better.”

The Premier also called on the federal government to address certain issues ahead of the budget today.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Riaz Ahmad - Regina Coronation Park

  • Ghislaine McLeod - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Jamie Martens - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Maureen Alice Torr - Saskatoon Meewasin

  • Barret Kropf - Dakota-Arm River

  • John Owojori - Saskatoon Southeast

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche

  • Sally Housser - Regina University

  • Wynn Fedorchuk - Canora-Pelly

  • Mike Tapola - Wood River