Nomination shake-up

Watching the Martensville-Blairmore nomination, education "accountability framework", and NDP think the budget is still bad

March 25, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning. As we shared with you on Friday, The SKoop is giving away a pair of AirPods. All you have to do is share this newsletter with your family, friends and colleagues. But we also want to know what other kinds of prizes and merchandise you would like as a thank-you for sharing The SKoop Political Briefing. Take our poll further down this newsletter.

Here’s The SKoop for today:

  • A shake-up in the Sask. Party Martensville-Blairmore nomination,

  • More STF action as Jeremy Cockrill teases announcement, and

  • The NDP’s thoughts on last week’s budget haven’t changed.

Today’s Top Stories

Nomination shake-up in Martensville-Blairmore

Jamie Martens

The Saskatchewan Party is holding a hotly-contested nomination in Martensville-Blairmore and voting will take place on Wednesday, March 27. Heading into this past weekend ahead of the nomination there were three contenders: Martensville Deputy Mayor Jamie Martens, MS Gill, and Sunny Kals.

However, Martens appears to have received the endorsement of MS Gill, and Gill has subsequently dropped out of the race. Martens posted this on social media:

This means a straight up Martens-Kals nomination on Wednesday. The SKoop will keep you updated with the results.

The NDP will nominate their candidate for Canora-Pelly tomorrow night. Saskatchewan Party members in Saskatoon University-Sutherland will vote for their candidate tomorrow as well, with Ghislaine McLeod and Dale Hryeniuk seeking the nomination.

More STF sanctions coming as province says it’s willing to create accountability framework

The Saskatchewan Teacher’s Federation has announced further job action in the province for this week, with the federation withdrawing all extracurricular activities Monday through Thursday.

Education minister Jeremy Cockrill hinted at an announcement of an “accountability framework” to come this week, saying, “As I indicated publicly yesterday, work has been underway to find a path forward with the teachers’ union,” he added. “I will have more to say next week on how we are working to ensure that students get the opportunities they so deserve, including graduation.”

The STF has said the “longest-ever job action by Saskatchewan teachers” would cease if the province agrees to binding arbitration, or to bargain on classroom composition and complexity.

NDP continue criticism of budget

NDP finance critic Trent Wotherspoon

#News: The Saskatchewan NDP still don’t like last week’s budget.

In a recent interview on The Evan Bray Show, NDP finance critic Trent Wotherspoon criticized the 2024-25 provincial budget, claiming it offers no relief for residents grappling with the cost of living. Despite searching the entire budget, Wotherspoon found no measures aimed at easing the financial strain on Saskatchewanians, a concern highlighted by a recent report from Angus Reid that suggests a significant portion of the population struggles to afford basic necessities.

Additionally, Wotherspoon highlighted the inefficient allocation of funds to the proposed Saskatchewan Marshals Service, which has yet to yield tangible results, as an example of misdirected fiscal priorities.

More news and info

*Sponsored content.

POLL: As a thank-you for sharing The SKoop Political Briefing, what kinds of prizes or merchandise would interest you?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Riaz Ahmad - Regina Coronation Park

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Michael Woollard - Canora Pelly

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche

  • Sally Housser - Regina University