🗳️ A long, slow motion Question Period

Presented by Saskatchewan Heavy Construction Association

May 2, 2024 | Advertise with us

Be campaign ready.

Presented by

Good morning, and welcome to a number of new readers that have recently joined us. Thanks for being here!

Here’s The SKoop for Thursday, May 2:

  • Moe, Beck spar in annual Premier’s estimates,

  • Singh commits federal NDP to supporting budget, keeping Liberals in power, and

  • Sask. Party nominates McMorris successor in White City-Qu’appelle.

Today’s Top Stories

Moe, Beck spar in annual Premier’s Estimates

Credit: Postmedia

Scott Moe and Carla Beck squared off yesterday in what political insiders regularly refer to as “Premier’s Estimates” - a lengthy back-and-forth between the two leaders that goes in-depth on the budget estimates of Executive Council expenditures.

In reality, though, it’s a long, slow motion version of Question Period, lasting about three hours, with the Opposition leader lobbing questions across the aisle at the Premier. The Premier has access to officials and staff, including his Deputy Minister and other civil servants, as well as his senior political staff, and of course cabinet ministers. Some years there are fireworks in Premier’s Estimates; other years there are not.

The last Premier’s Estimates before an election can often signal what the Opposition hopes to focus on in the months leading up to the provincial vote.

Questions from Beck during yesterday’s Premier’s Estimates included jobs and employment numbers, hospital closures and service availability, health care recruitment and retention, education issues, and support for agriculture producers.

Learn more about the great work the Saskatchewan Heavy Construction Association and its members are doing at saskheavy.ca.

Singh commits NDP to supporting federal budget, keeping Liberals in power

Federal NDP leader Jagmeet Singh told reporters in Ottawa that the NDP would be supporting the government’s budget, and will keep the federal Liberals in power.

Singh said, "We took time to reflect, but we won't let them off the hook. I received openness to responding to concerns I raised and now we're going to hold them to account." The federal leader points to funding for pharmacare, dental care, and a national school lunch program as accomplishments.

All other opposition parties including the Conservatives, Bloc, and Greens said they would not support the budget. If the NDP were to vote against the budget a federal election would be triggered.

Sask. Party nominates candidate for White City-Qu’appelle

The Saskatchewan Party has nominated their candidate for White City-Qu’appelle.

Brad Crassweller won a contested nomination, beating two other candidates. Crassweller is a business owner.

The riding of White City-Qu’Appelle is a new constituency encompassing Regina's outskirts. Created from what used to be Indian Head-Milestone and the rural area of Regina Wascana Plains, this new riding also includes three First Nations.

Incumbent MLA for Indian Head-Milestone Don McMorris announced that he would not be seeking re-election. He was first elected in 1999 and has served in numerous cabinet positions.

This is the 49th candidate nominated by the Sask. Party ahead of the 2024 election. The next Sask. Party nomination will be in Cumberland on May 8. The Saskatchewan NDP will also hold their next nomination meeting on May 8 in Saskatoon Westview.

SUMA represents over 80% of Saskatchewan residents —cities, towns, villages, resort villages, and northern municipalities—that come together as one urban voice.

We’ve been here since 1905, advancing collective member interests with various government bodies, improving local governance, and fostering municipal growth. We are the hubs where you live, work, and play. We're where your children go to school, where you attend medical appointments at the clinic, and where you stop for coffee.

We are urban. 

To learn more visit www.suma.org.

More news and info

*Sponsored content from Saskatchewan Egg Producers.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Riaz Ahmad - Regina Coronation Park

  • Ghislaine McLeod - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Jamie Martens - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Maureen Alice Torr - Saskatoon Meewasin

  • Barret Kropf - Dakota-Arm River

  • John Owojori - Saskatoon Southeast

  • Mike Weger - Weyburn-Bengough

  • Brad Crassweller - White City-Qu’appelle

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young - Regina South Albert

  • Trent Wotherspoon - Regina Mount Royal

  • Nicole Sarauer - Regina Douglas Park

  • Meara Conway - Regina Elphinstone Centre

  • Matt Love - Saskatoon Eastview

  • Nathaniel Teed - Saskatoon Meewasin

  • Erika Ritchie - Saskatoon Nutana

  • Vicki Mowat - Saskatoon Fairview

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher - Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche

  • Sally Housser - Regina University

  • Wynn Fedorchuk - Canora-Pelly

  • Mike Tapola - Wood River