It's Budget Day

Harpauer delivers her final budget, what to expect this afternoon, and a new candidate

March 20, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning. Today is Wednesday, March 20, 2024, also known as Budget Day in Saskatchewan!

Following what’s certain to be a raucous Question Period in front of jam-packed galleries this afternoon, Finance Minister Donna Harpauer will rise and deliver the Saskatchewan Party government’s final budget before this fall’s election (more on Harpauer’s last budget below).

In tomorrow’s newsletter we will have full coverage of the budget, including the big ticket items and the numbers within it, the NDP’s response and what other stakeholders think of the budget, and a lot more.

Here’s The SKoop for today:

  • Donna Harpauer set to deliver her last budget,

  • Premier Moe signals what to expect this afternoon, and

  • The Saskatchewan Party nominates their candidate for Regina Coronation Park.

P.S. Please share The SKoop with your networks. At the bottom of this email you will see a new referral section - share The SKoop and gain points towards winning prizes like gift cards and a pair of AirPods. Thanks!

Today’s Top Stories

Finance Minister Donna Harpauer ready for one last budget

Donna Harpauer will deliver her last budget with the Saskatchewan Party government today. After being elected for the first time in 1999, Harpauer would go on to win again in 2003, 2007, 2011, 2016, and 2020. Representing the people of Humboldt for over 25 years and serving in almost every major cabinet position, she now serves as the Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance. She is the longest-serving female cabinet minister in all of Canadian history.

“The challenge we are having is growth without the benefits of growth,” Harpauer said in a recent Leader-Post column by Murray Mandryk. “We have more people, so we need more schools. We need more health-care facilities, but we don’t have the tax base yet to pay for it. When we get there, the potential will be absolutely enormous.”

She will deliver her final budget, and the last budget before the provincial election, this afternoon.

‘Classrooms, care and communities’ to be focus of budget, Moe says

Credit: 650 CKOM

While the full budget will be introduced this afternoon by Minister Harpauer, Premier Scott Moe took to social media this week to unveil some budget commitments early. saying, “In this new budget, you will see our government respond to the challenges of a growing province by reinvesting the very benefits from that growing province in classrooms, in care and in communities,” Moe said. “And there will be a lot more detail on Wednesday.”

“It will deliver the largest-ever increase in municipal revenue sharing for Saskatchewan communities. Cities, towns, villages and RMs will be up $42 million, or about 14 per cent. And it will deliver the largest increase in health-care funding in Saskatchewan’s history, up $726 million, or more than 10 per cent.”

Moe previously noted the education budget will add up to $2.2 billion, and will include more than $356 million that has been specifically allocated to classroom supports.

Sask. Party nominates candidate for Coronation Park

Credit: Saskatchewan Party

The Saskatchewan Party has nominated its 42nd candidate of 61 for the upcoming election.

Riaz Ahmad was been nominated by Saskatchewan Party members in Coronation Park last night. Mr. Ahmed was previously the party’s candidate in the by-election for Coronation Park last summer, following the resignation of Mark Docherty.

Last week, hundreds of people attended the acclamation of Rahul Singh in Regina Northeast. The party has nominated 11 new candidates in addition to 31 incumbents.

Thursday night is a big night for the Saskatchewan NDP when members will nominate their candidate for Regina University. The winner of that contest will go up against longtime Saskatchewan Party MLA Gene Makowsky.

More news and info

*Sponsored content.

Feedback: What time of day do you typically read The SKoop Political Briefing and other emails like it?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Riaz Ahmad - Regina Coronation Park

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Michael Woollard - Canora Pelly

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche