"Doing right thing"

Canadians consider the carbon tax, a slew of nominations, and digital air war continues

March 26, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning, and happy Make Up Your Own Holiday Day! That’s right, it’s a real thing. Every March 26, people around the world get to make their own fun little holiday. To celebrate today, what holiday are you making up? Let us know!

Here’s The SKoop for today, Tuesday, March 26:

  • Polling gives insight on carbon tax in Saskatchewan and across Canada,

  • A slew of nominations during a short week, and

  • Education digital air war continues.

Today’s Top Stories

Polling: Canadians have thoughts on the carbon tax

Angus Reid poll shows support across Canada for Saskatchewan’s decision to withold carbon tax on home heating

Months ago Premier Scott Moe announced that Saskatchewan would be withold the federal carbon tax on SaskEnergy and home heating bills. The legislature unanimously passed a Bill that would allow the government to do so, and since then seven of the ten Premiers across the country have come out united against the carbon tax increase on April 1.

Saskatchewan residents want to go even further according to new polling from Angus Reid. Roughly half of those polled said they believe they pay more in carbon taxes than they get back in rebates. 61% of respondents said they believe the carbon tax should be abolished altogether.

Angus Reid

When asked if they thought the carbon tax was effective or not in reducing Canada’s and global greenhouse gas emissions, Canadians thought the tax was not effective for reducing either.

In response, the Government of Canada has said, “This year, a family of four in Saskatchewan is supposed to receive up to $1,800 in Canada Carbon Rebates. More than half a million Saskatchewanians benefit from the Canada Carbon Rebates.” Federal Minister of Environment and Climate Change Stephen Guilbeaut said, “If Premier Scott Moe decides he wants to start breaking federal laws then measures will be taken. We can’t let that happen. What if tomorrow someone decides they want to break other laws, criminal laws? What would happen then?”

The Angus Reid poll also showed that residents in all provinces agreed with the Moe government’s decision to withold the federal carbon tax on home heating, saying it was “doing right thing”.

Short week = lots of nominations

Saskatchewan Party nomination candidates Dale Hryeniuk and Ghislaine McLeod

It may be a short workweek, but it’s packed tight with nomination contests.

In addition to the Martensville-Blairmore race scheduled for tomorrow, the Saskatchewan Party will hold another contested nomination for the constituency of Saskatoon University-Sutherland tonight. There are two candidates seeking the nomination.

Ghislaine McLeod is the President of the Sask. Party’s constituency association for this riding. She is the Principal consultant at Capital G Communications and is a former board member of the Saskatoon Health Region and the Saskatoon Club. Dale Hryeniuk is also seeking the nomination. He is a journeyman electrician with the City of Saskatoon. Both candidates have been campaigning since August of last year.

The riding of Saskatoon University is currently held by NDP MLA Jennifer Bowes, who is not seeking re-election. The NDP have already nominated Tajinder Grewal as the candidate for this constituency. Dr. Grewal is a scientist at the University of Saskatchewan and is a previous candidate for the NDP.

The NDP will nominate Wynn Fedorchuk as their candidate in Canora-Pelly on Wednesday evening.

The SKoop will bring you all the results from all nominations this week. Stay tuned!

Sask. Party Caucus launches new digital ads, while Sask. Federation of Labour joins the fun

Source: Facebook Ad Library

The teachers contract air war continues.

Last Friday the Saskatchewan Party Caucus launched a new Facebook Ad aimed at making their case to the public. This is a continuation of what we’ve seen over the past few months, with new images. The Saskatchewan Party caucus has also been airing radio ads on major stations across the province advocating their position.

Meanwhile, organized labour in Saskatchewan has been lending a hand to the Saskatchewan Teachers Federation. The Saskatchewan Federation of Labour has recently been running a digital ad on Facebook and Instagram, asking people to sign an online petition to support public education in Saskatchewan.

Source: Facebook Ads Library

POLL: As a thank-you for sharing The SKoop Political Briefing, what kinds of prizes or merchandise would interest you?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Riaz Ahmad - Regina Coronation Park

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Michael Woollard - Canora Pelly

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche

  • Sally Housser - Regina University