Debt attack

NDP criticize debt situation, a healthcare deal with the feds, and maybe no HOOPLA

March 19, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning and happy Tuesday! Today is budget-eve in Saskatchewan, so rest up because Wednesday will be a big day!

Here’s The SKoop for today:

  • NDP focus on debt just days before budget,

  • Saskatchewan signs healthcare deal with feds, and

  • The STF announced a province-wide strike Wednesday plus other job actions.

P.S. Please share The SKoop with your networks. At the bottom of this email you will see a new referral section - share The SKoop and gain points towards winning prizes like gift cards and a pair of AirPods. Thanks!

Today’s Top Stories

Sask. NDP launch attack against Moe ahead of budget

Source: Saskatchewan NDP

The Saskatchewan NDP spent all of Question Period on Monday focused on debt. NDP Leader Carla Beck said, “Leave it to this premier to nearly double the debt and still crash our hospitals and schools. Government's need to be more focused on solving problems, not just throwing money at them. After 17 years, this tired and out-of-touch government is straight out of fresh ideas and this province deserves a change.”

Finance Minister Donna Harpauer and Premier Moe defended their record saying the NDP have no plan, and that the government is investing in hospitals, schools, and highways.

Tomorrow will be interesting!

Federal government announces $560M in funding for health, long-term care in Sask.

Federal Health Minister Mark Holland was in Regina to announce $560M in funding for healthcare and long-term care for Saskatchewan. The funding comes in two bilateral agreements. The Working Together agreement has close to $391 million for health-care system improvement. Another $169 million is included in the Aging with Dignity agreement, supporting home care, palliative care and long-term care initiatives. The money will go towards new care beds, training seats, physician payment, expanding 811, and expanding the chronic pain clinic.

In February of 2023, the federal government announced a $200B 10-year plan with $46B of new money. Since then the feds have been working on bilateral provincial agreements. Saskatchewan is the tenth province to sign on.

Teachers announce provincewide strike on Budget day, cancel high school events

The Saskatchewan Teacher’s Federation has announced a provincial strike on Wednesday. Teachers will be striking outside of the Saskatchewan legislature the same day the government is set to deliver its final budget ahead of the 2024 election. The STF says they expect over 4,000 teachers and supporters on Wednesday.

In addition, the STF stated, “Teachers will not provide voluntary services involved in the organization, supervision and facilitation of activities including athletics, non-curricular arts, field trips, student travel, graduation preparations, school clubs and other activities.” This means that the HOOPLA provincial basketball tournament and the Regina Optimist Band Festival could be cancelled this week.

The STF said it will pause all job action if the government agrees to enter into binding arbitration. Education Minister Jeremy Cockrill said, “I don't think we're at the point where binding arbitration would be appropriate.”

More news and info

*Sponsored content from Public Affairs Association of Canada - Saskatchewan Chapter.

Feedback: What time of day do you typically read The SKoop Political Briefing and other emails like it?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Michael Woollard - Canora Pelly

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche