🗳️ Comeback bid

Challengers for Sandra Masters in Regina, PST Twitter war, and a look at Moose Jaw North

April 5, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning. The Legislative Assembly returns from break on Monday, which means six more weeks of session and 24 more days of Question Period. Fun times ahead!

Here’s The SKoop for today, Friday, April 5:

  • Who will challenge Sandra Masters for Mayor in Regina?

  • A n online battle over PST increases, and

  • A constituency profile of Moose Jaw North.

Today’s Top Stories

Who will challenge Regina Mayor Sandra Masters?

Regina City Councillors Dan Leblanc and Andrew Stevens

When Regina mayor Sandra Masters announced last month that she will seek re-election this fall, it’s likely a lot of political followers immediately wondered: who, if anyone, will challenge her?

One would not be surprised if either Dan LeBlanc or Andrew Stevens, both current city councillors, announced a mayoral campaign. Both councillors have sparred with the mayor over the past term, and LeBlanc or Stevens would have significant support from progressive voters in the city (and anyone else not happy with how Masters has performed as mayor, for that matter).

Stevens, along with a constituent, brought forward a lawsuit against City Manager Nikki Anderson in late-2022 after administration did not include the cost of fixing homelessness as a line item in the budget. The pair were represented by Leblanc who is also a lawyer. Masters called their lawsuit “disgusting” with undertones of sexism. But, Masters and Stevens have also worked together to spearhead a revitalization project in North Central Regina.

At this time, Masters is the only member of City Council to officially announce their intentions for the fall, leading some to speculate if other councillors are also contemplating throwing their hats into the ring, or if they are waiting to see who announces first.

In Saskatoon, former Mayors always seem to run for re-election (see Don Atchison), and the rumour mill in Regina has swirled that former mayor Michael Fougere has perhaps considered a comeback bid.

Former Regina mayor Michael Fougere. Source: CBC News

Regina Youtuber Ryan Doka told the Leader-Post that he would be running for Mayor and received the endorsement of JustBins.

Moe, Beck spar on social media over PST

Focusing on affordability, Premier Scott Moe took a swipe at the NDP on social media on Thursday, saying that the PST now is “3% lower than it was under the NDP, when it was as high as 9%.”

NDP leader Carla Beck was quick to refute the Premier’s claims, posting on Twitter (X), “Growing up with cattle, you learn pretty quick to spot bull…”

MLAs are back in session on Monday and political watchers can expect the dial to be ratched up more and more between the parties as they enter the last six weeks of session before they break for the summer and the 2024 election this fall.

Constituency Profile: Moose Jaw North

Leading up to the 2024 election, The SKoop Political Briefing is highlighting constituencies that have nominated a candidate from at least both major parties. Today, we look at Moose Jaw North. The constituency includes all of Moose Jaw north of Caribou Street, north until the eight-mile road that borders the Lumsden-Morse constituency. The new boundaries include additional rural areas.

The incumbent: Tim McLeod. McLeod was first elected in 2020 and currently serves as the Minister of Rural and Remote Health, Mental Health, Addictions and Seniors. In 2020 he received 63% of the vote and is a well-known lawyer in the community.

The challenger: Cheantelle Fisher. The NDP acclaimed Fisher late last year. She works for Moose Jaw Food as a client resource manager. The NDP have won this seat in the past.

The takeaway: This is a riding to watch, but is likely a Sask. Party hold. Moose Jaw is one of the places where NDP leader Carla Beck is looking to make inroads outside of the two major centers, but McLeod is a popular cabinet minister and is currently ahead in the polls. Both parties have won this constituency before.

More news and info

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Riaz Ahmad - Regina Coronation Park

  • Ghislaine McLeod - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Jamie Martens - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche

  • Sally Housser - Regina University

  • Wynn Fedorchuk - Canora-Pelly