🗳️ Another incumbent won't run

Saskatoon councilor not running again, tensions rise at City Halls, and new candidate in Dakota-Arm River

April 12, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning. On this day in 1968 the iconic movie "2001: A Space Odyssey," directed by Stanley Kubrick, premiered. The film is renowned for its pioneering special effects, profound narrative, and orchestral score, and it has significantly influenced the science fiction genre. Great movie, but don’t be like HAL, people.

Here’s The SKoop for Friday, April 12:

  • Two-term city councillor not running again,

  • Tensions flare at Regina, Saskatoon city council meetings, and

  • The Saskatchewan Party nominates a candidate in Dakota-Arm River

Today’s Top Stories

Saskatoon councillor not running again

Councillor Sarina Gersher (Saskatoon StarPhoenix)

Saskatoon Ward 8 City Councillor Sarina Gersher will not be seeking re-election this November.

After first being elected in 2016, Gersher told the Saskatoon StarPhoenix, “Overall I feel like I’ve been able to dedicate 100 per cent of myself to this role over the last eight years, and I think it’s important, and this role deserves that level of commitment.” Gersher on Thursday said she is most proud of progress made on reconciliation and inclusion, planning for the city’s growth with items including new transit corridors and balancing infill with new developments, and furthering the Bus Rapid Transit system.

Saskatoon City Council will look very different after the next municipal election as Mayor Charlie Clark and Ward 3 Councillor David Kirton already announced they will not be seeking another term. Ward 8 is made up of Briarwood, Brighton, East College Park and other nearby neighbourhoods.

The official campaign period for the Saskatoon municipal election begins June 1.

Tension at Regina, Saskatoon City Halls

A packed gallery at Regina City Hall (Alexander Quon, X)

Tensions flared at Regina City Hall Wednesday night for what was a packed agenda. Twelve delegations registered to speak on the topic of the Housing Accelerator Fund, most in opposition to housing bylaw changes. In the end, Council approved the changes that would see an additional 1,100 permit approvals by 2026, which would unlock $35M from the federal government.

The Council also debated an amendment that would allow private capital to fundraise for an outdoor waterslide wheelchair elevator. Councillor Nelson went viral on TikTok over this issue a few months ago.

There was also an emotional meeting at Saskatoon City Hall this week when the council discussed the controversial Fairhaven Shelter. Saskatoon council candidate Rob Pearce spoke against the shelter at the meeting, saying the neighbourhood crime is underreported because it is “futile” to do so. Tribal Chief Mark Arcand fired back saying, “It's 2024. This is a pastor. He's gotta learn to open up his heart and his house, which is the church, and help homeless people.”

No doubt tensions will continue to build ahead of November’s municipal elections in both major cities.

Sask. Party nominates candidate in Dakota-Arm River

Barret Kropf has won a contested nomination and will be the Saskatchewan Party candidate for Dakota-Arm River. Kropf is a well-known hockey coach and small business owner. He is also a Chaplain, notably the Riders Chaplain from 2007-2013.

Dakota-Arm River (currently Arm River) is held by Sask. Party MLA Dana Skoropad. Skoropad recently announced he would not be seeking a second term, leaving the nomination race wide open. The new provincial boundary for this riding is the communities along Highway 11 from Regina to Saskatoon and includes Davidson. The redistribution gives quite a bit of rural constituents to bordering ridings while gaining the “rural” portion of Saskatoon Stonebridge-Dakota.

Kropf is the 46th candidate nominated by the Saskatchewan Party ahead of the provincial election scheduled for October 28.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • James Thorsteinson - Cut Knife-Turtleford

  • Rahul Singh - Regina Northeast

  • Riaz Ahmad - Regina Coronation Park

  • Ghislaine McLeod - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Jamie Martens - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Maureen Alice Torr - Saskatoon Meewasin

  • Barret Kropf - Dakota-Arm River

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Trina Miller - Batoche

  • Sally Housser - Regina University

  • Wynn Fedorchuk - Canora-Pelly

  • Mike Tapola - Wood River