A Friday surprise

The province commits to education funding, Thorsteinson officially a candidate, and a look at Kelvington-Wadena

March 11, 2024 | Advertise with us

Presented by

Good morning, and happy World Plumbing Day. Yes, that’s right: March 11 is is the day to celebrate all the hardworking plumbers out there. First established in 2010 by the World Plumbing Council, World Plumbing Day raises awareness about the crucial work plumbers do and the significant impact that plumbing and sanitation systems have on our daily lives, especially in terms of clean water access and disease prevention. Not to mention helping out when our pipes freeze in the winter!

Here’s The SKoop for today:

  • The province and Saskatchewan School Board Association (SSBA) announced a surprise multi-year education funding agreement;

  • James Thorsteinson officially becomes a candidate tonight; and

  • Constituency Profile: Kelvington-Wadena!

P.S. Please share The SKoop with your networks. At the bottom of this email you will see a new referral section - share The SKoop and gain points towards winning prizes like gift cards and a pair of AirPods. Thanks!

Today’s Top Stories

Government and School Boards Announce Multi-Year Funding Agreement

The Government of Saskatchewan and the Saskatchewan School Board Association announced a surprise multi-year deal on education funding on Friday morning. The agreement guarantees a $356 million base amount of long-term funding to school divisions that are specific for classroom support.

"This agreement provides a written guarantee, signed by the government, for long-term funding for classroom supports - funding that will address important issues like classroom size and complexity," Education Minister Jeremy Cockrill said. "Now that our government has made this unprecedented commitment in a signed agreement, it's time for the Saskatchewan Teachers Federation to end their job action and return to the bargaining table so that students and teachers can return to the classroom." 

The Saskatchewan Teacher’s Federation said they would not return to the bargaining table unless the government commits to putting the signed agreement with the SSBA in the collective agreement. The union also said that, despite the new funding announcement, previously planned job sanctions will continue this week.

Former Saskatchewan Party President becomes candidate tonight

James Thorsteinson

James Thorsteinson will be acclaimed as the Saskatchewan Party candidate for Cut Knife-Turtleford tonight. Thorsteinson previously served as the Saskatchewan Party President. He originally planned to contest the Lloydminster constituency against longtime MLA Colleen Young but opted for Cut Knife Turtleford following the removal of Ryan Domotor as a candidate in that constituency. Thorsteinson will be the 40th candidate nominated by the party ahead of the 2024 provincial election.

The Saskatchewan Party will next nominate a new candidate in Regina Northeast on Thursday. The NDP will nominate their candidate for Batoche on March 17th. For all candidates to date see the updated Election Candidate Tracker at the bottom of this newsletter.

Constituency Profile: Kelvington-Wadena

Each week leading up to the 2024 election, The SKoop Political Briefing will highlight a constituency that has nominated a candidate from at least both major parties. Today, we look at Kelvington-Wadena.

The incumbent: Hugh Nerlien was first elected in 2016 with just under 70% of the vote and re-elected in 2020 with the same margin. Born in Kelvington, Nerlien was a business owner and community volunteer. He has served on various government committees.

The challenger: Lorne Schroeder is the NDP candidate for the region. Schroeder is a mixed farmer and Reeve from LeRoy, he also served as a school board chair.

The takeaway: Kelvington-Wadena remains a safe seat for the Saskatchewan Party. Saskatchewan Party founding MLA June Draude represented this riding for 20 years before retiring in 2016. The NDP will look to crack 20% of the vote, something they haven’t done since 2007.

More news and info

*Sponsored content from Public Affairs Association of Canada - Saskatchewan Chapter.

Feedback: What time of day do you typically read The SKoop Political Briefing and other emails like it?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

2024 Election Candidate Tracker

  • Premier Scott Moe - Rosthern Shellbrook

  • Lisa Lambert - Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood

  • Muhammad Fiaz - Regina Pasqua

  • Jeremy Harrison - Meadow Lake

  • Lori Carr - Estevan-Big Muddy

  • Eric Schmalz - Saskatchewan Rivers

  • David Buckingham - Saskatoon Westview

  • Bronwyn Eyre - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Steven Bonk - Moosomin-Montmartre

  • Jeremy Cockrill - The Battlefords

  • Ken Cheveldayoff - Saskatoon Willowgrove

  • Gene Makowsky - Regina University

  • Alana Ross - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Christine Tell - Regina Wascana Plains

  • Hugh Nerlien - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Marv Friesen - Saskatoon Riversdale

  • David Marit - Wood River

  • Doug Steele - Cypress Hills

  • Terry Jenson - Warman

  • Daryl Harrison - Cannington

  • Travis Keisig - Last Mountain Touchwood

  • Everett Hindley - Swift Current

  • Todd Goudy - Melfort

  • Sean Wilson - Canora-Pelly

  • Warren Kaeding - Melville-Saltcoats

  • Tim McLeod - Moose Jaw North

  • Paul Merriman - Saskatoon Silverspring

  • Terri Bromm - Carrot River Valley

  • Joe Hargrave - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Colleen Young - Lloydminster

  • Jim Reiter - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Jim Lemaigre - Athabasca

  • Kim Gartner - Kindsersley-Biggar

  • Khushdil "Lucky" Mehrok - Regina South Albert

  • Blaine McLeod - Lumsden-Morse

  • Megan Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Darlene Rowden - Batoche

  • Laura Ross - Regina Rochdale

  • David Chan - Yorkton

  • Nicole Rancourt - Prince Albert Northcote

  • Joan Pratchler - Regina Rochdale

  • Betty Nippi-Albright - Saskatoon Centre

  • Aleana Young (Regina South Albert)

  • Trent Wotherspoon (Regina Mount Royal)

  • Nicole Sarauer (Regina Douglas Park)

  • Meara Conway (Regina Elphinstone Centre)

  • Matt Love (Saskatoon Eastview)

  • Nathaniel Teed (Saskatoon Meewasin)

  • Erika Ritchie (Saskatoon Nutana)

  • Vicki Mowat (Saskatoon Fairview)

  • Jordan McPhail - Cumberland

  • Melissa Patterson - Moose Jaw Wakamow

  • Bhajan Brar - Regina Pasqua

  • Michael Woollard - Canora Pelly

  • Tammy Pike - Martensville-Blairmore

  • Darcy Warrington - Saskatoon Stonebridge

  • Tajinder Grewal - Saskatoon University-Sutherland

  • Carolyn Brost-Strom - Prince Albert Carlton

  • Noor Burki - Regina Coronation Park

  • Jared Clarke - Regina Walsh Acres

  • Jacqueline Roy - Regina Northeast

  • Brenda Edel - Rosetown-Delisle

  • Tom Kroczynski - The Battlefords

  • Don McBean - Saskatoon Chief Mistiwasis

  • Grady Birns - White City-Qu'Appelle

  • Lenore Pinder - Yorkton

  • Lorne Schroeder - Kelvington-Wadena

  • Thera Nordal - Last Mountain-Touchwood

  • Cheantelle Fisher, Moose Jaw North

  • Kim Breckner, Saskatoon Riversdale

  • Alana Wakula, Saskatoon Willowgrove